Preschool Staff and Board

The current staff is comprised of one certified teacher, who has been with the preschool from its beginning in 1997, and two associates. Their combination of experience and creativity make for a balanced approach to preschool curriculum.

  • Cindy Broadway, a teacher within the classroom has an elementary education degree with an early childhood endorsement.  She had teaching experience in fourth grade and kindergarten before becoming a preschool director and teacher in 1995. 


  • Katie Mulder, our assistant director and classroom associate, is a certified early childhood para-educator who joined our staff in 2009.


  • Keely VerSteegh, a classroom associate, has an Early Childhood Associate degree and joined our staff in 2018. 
         Communication is one of the key elements in education. Phone calls or emails are always welcomed. Weekly updates on                      classroom happenings are sent through email and/or home with the children.  A monthly calendar with daily information listed is             also provided.  Evaluations are sent home twice a year with opportunity for conferences as well.

    The director is Vickie Van Donselaar. If you would like to contact her, please send her an email at
SONshine Preschool is under the direction of a parent member board.  Each year new parent members are chosen from a list of volunteers from incoming families to serve a three-year term.  This rotating three-year term helps to provide knowledge and consistency as a governing board.
        SONshine Preschool Board Members        
Jenni Rinehart-Lynch, President, 641-676-1981
 Susie Chilcote
Jen Groenenboom
Melissa Bowen
Tiffany Beal
Katie Johnston
Mary Beth Jackson
Amber Denburger
Dan Hoy